The Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s 77th Annual Golden Globe®Awards ceremony will air live coast to coast on NBC from The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California on Sunday, January 5, 2020. Nominations were announced on Monday, December 9, 2019.

Produced by Dick Clark Productions in association with the HFPA, the Golden Globe Awards are viewed in more than 236 countries and territories worldwide and are one of the few awards ceremonies to include both motion picture and television achievements.

Click the ballot below to download your printable ballot in pdf format.2020_Golden_Globes_Awards_Ballot

From the HPFA archives: The first awards presentation for distinguished achievements in the film industry granted by Hollywood Foreign Correspondents Association—the precursor of today’s Hollywood Foreign Press Association—took place in early 1944 with an informal ceremony at 20th Century Fox. There, Jennifer Jones was awarded Best Actress honors for The Song of Bernadette, which also won for Best Film, while Paul Lukas took home Best Actor laurels for Watch on the Rhine. Awards were presented in the form of scrolls.

The following year, the members of the association held a contest to find a design for a statuette that would best represent the overall aims of the organization. Marina Cisternas, president of the group in 1945-46, presented the idea of a shiny globe on a cylindrical pedestal, to represent the world.

In conjunction with the Golden Globes presentation, the Hollywood Foreign Correspondents Association held its first gala social event in 1945 with a formal banquet at the Beverly Hills Hotel. Going My Way won for Best Picture, while Ingrid Bergman and Alexander Knox were named Best Actress and Best Actor for their performances in The Bells of St. Mary and President Wilson, respectively.

There have been other important landmarks in the history of the Golden Globes. In 1951 the association decided to divide the best film, actor and actress nominees into two categories—drama, and musical or comedy—so that no genre would be slighted. In 1952, the HFPA created the Cecil B. deMille Award to recognize “outstanding contribution to the entertainment field.” The award’s first recipient was Mr. deMille.